A Matter of Happiness (and a classic bourbon cocktail)

A Matter of Happiness tells alternating tales of a 1920s trailblazer in Detroit with her modern day descendant in Kentucky bourbon country. It’s a story of determination for both. Of course, since it is set in Kentucky, there’s lots of bourbon. . . . → Read More: A Matter of Happiness (and a classic bourbon cocktail)

Cookies for the Road (and for The Book of Maps)

A road trip is the central plot of The Book of Maps so I included a great road trip staple, cookies. Read on for a book review and a recipe. . . . → Read More: Cookies for the Road (and for The Book of Maps)

Sweet Potato Pie from Never Meant to Meet You

This stopover on the TLC Book Tour found me reading (and enjoying) Never Meant to Meet You by Alli Frank and Asha Youmans. From the authors of Tiny Imperfections comes a riotously funny, emotionally real look at race and religion, love and heartache, and the realities of parenting through it all. . . . → Read More: Sweet Potato Pie from Never Meant to Meet You

A travel guide review—Camino de Santiago: Sacred Sites, Historic Villages, Local Food & Wine

The TLC Book Tour had me really touring for this review stop…all the way from France to Spain along the Camino de Santiago.

About the book: CAMINO DE SANTIAGO: SACRED SITES, HISTORIC VILLAGES, LOCAL FOOD & WINE (TRAVEL GUIDE)

Publisher: Moon Travel; 2nd edition (May 24, 2022)

Paperback: 568 Pages

Over 1,200 years old, 500 . . . → Read More: A travel guide review—Camino de Santiago: Sacred Sites, Historic Villages, Local Food & Wine

Cobbler Recipes and Where Wild Peaches Grow

A review of a new novel about family, heritage, traditions and history. The book is set in Natchez, Mississippi and it’s a history we should all learn about. Keep reading for the review and a couple of cobbler recipes from the archives. . . . → Read More: Cobbler Recipes and Where Wild Peaches Grow

Maple-Oatmeal Bread for The Vanishing Type

Here’s the latest TLC Book Tour stop for The Vanishing Type by Ellery Adams.

You can see all my TLC reviews here.

About the book:

Publisher: Kensington Cozies (April 26, 2022)

Hardcover: 304 pages

Entertainment Weekly hails the Secret, Book, and Scone Society series by New York Times bestselling author Ellery Adams as “a love . . . → Read More: Maple-Oatmeal Bread for The Vanishing Type

Limoncello Sparkler

Today’s cocktail is brought to you by It Takes a Villa by Kilby Blades, the latest TLC Book Tour read. It’s a steamy little book set in Italy with a strong American protagonist and a hunky Italian. 🙂 . . . → Read More: Limoncello Sparkler

Rabbit Food with Chicken Nuggets (and a book review of The Damage Done

In a world where it seems like we are living out a dystopian plot, it’s nice to read something that appears to depict utopia. The Damage Done by Michael Landweber might be just what we need.

About the novel: For fans of Ben Winters and Sarah Pinsker, this mind-bending and thought-provoking novel pushes the . . . → Read More: Rabbit Food with Chicken Nuggets (and a book review of The Damage Done

The Taste of Ginger and trying Lentil Dal

It’s time for another TLC Book tour stop. I am please to review Mansi Shah’s debut novel The Taste of Ginger. I received a free copy via TLC and the author. All gushings and rants are my own. About the book: In Mansi Shah’s stunning debut novel, a family tragedy beckons a first-generation immigrant to . . . → Read More: The Taste of Ginger and trying Lentil Dal

Divine Lola and Churro Biscotti

A fascinating biography about a eccentric but strong woman. Divine Lola needs to be in your library if you like reading about strong women. I paired a spicy vegan churro-flavored biscotti to go along with the fiery and spicy Lola. . . . → Read More: Divine Lola and Churro Biscotti