Show Us Your Books, May 2022

I’m still on my Game of Thrones reading kick. I finished #3 and have started #4.

A Storm of Swords by George R.R. Martin My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I’m really not sure I would have picked up and stayed with this series unless I had seen the HBO series (multiple times).

Martin uses . . . → Read More: Show Us Your Books, May 2022

Show Us Your Books, April 2022

Here’s what I read in March. The list is a bit shorter than the last two months.

There’s one “cookbook,” one foodie read, an art book, a massive saga and a couple of book club selections.

Healing Spices Handbook by Barbara Brownell Grogan My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I’ve always been very interested in . . . → Read More: Show Us Your Books, April 2022

Sweet and Spicy Balsamic Vinaigrette

Today’s recipe is inspired from Red Sparrow, the Cook the Books selection for February/March. . . . → Read More: Sweet and Spicy Balsamic Vinaigrette

Healing Spices review and a roasted cauliflower recipe

It’s rare that I do a book review that is not a part of Cook the Books Club or TLC Book Tours or Book Club Cookbook. Today I am reviewing a book I received for Christmas. Mom told me about it but it didn’t make the trip in the gift bags in December. My sister . . . → Read More: Healing Spices review and a roasted cauliflower recipe

Rabbit Food with Chicken Nuggets (and a book review of The Damage Done

In a world where it seems like we are living out a dystopian plot, it’s nice to read something that appears to depict utopia. The Damage Done by Michael Landweber might be just what we need.

About the novel: For fans of Ben Winters and Sarah Pinsker, this mind-bending and thought-provoking novel pushes the . . . → Read More: Rabbit Food with Chicken Nuggets (and a book review of The Damage Done

Show Us Your Books: March 2022

Here’s the books I read in February. The list is not quite as long as last month’s but the girth of some of these books was mighty. If I had an unintentional theme for last month’s reads it seems to be of “page to screen” (at least for a few of them). A Game of . . . → Read More: Show Us Your Books: March 2022

The Law of Unintended Consequences and a revisited taco recipe

G. Davies Jandrey has a new novel out and I was lucky enough to get a first look. I’m also highlighting Crunchy Cauliflower Tacos with Avocado Spicy Mayo from a former review of one of Jandrey’s previous books. . . . → Read More: The Law of Unintended Consequences and a revisited taco recipe

Show Us Your Books: January Reads

It’s been a while since I added a post to Show Us Your Books.

Last year my GoodReads challenge was 70 books. I met that and exceeded it by two so I set my 2022 challenge for 72 books. I was a little worried about that until I had to spend 5 days of . . . → Read More: Show Us Your Books: January Reads

The Taste of Ginger and trying Lentil Dal

It’s time for another TLC Book tour stop. I am please to review Mansi Shah’s debut novel The Taste of Ginger. I received a free copy via TLC and the author. All gushings and rants are my own. About the book: In Mansi Shah’s stunning debut novel, a family tragedy beckons a first-generation immigrant to . . . → Read More: The Taste of Ginger and trying Lentil Dal

Cinnamon and Gunpowder Muffins for CTB

I about screwed up. I was thinking I had until the end of December for this round of Cook the Books. Claudia from Honey from Rock is hosting Cinnamon and Gunpowder by Eli Brown. You can read her announcement post here.

The book has been on my bedside table for a couple of months. I . . . → Read More: Cinnamon and Gunpowder Muffins for CTB