Olive Oil Poached Eggs with Toast Points and Hot Honey for Why I Never Finished My Dissertation

It’s a first today at EE…the first collection of poetry that I’ve reviewed here and paired with a recipe. Enjoy this slim volume of verse along with a most excellent breakfast option. . . . → Read More: Olive Oil Poached Eggs with Toast Points and Hot Honey for Why I Never Finished My Dissertation

“Show Us Your Books”: What I Read in March

I’m linking up to a new book group today: “Show Us Your Books” hosted by Jana and Steph. (There’s more about this event at the bottom of this post.) Here’s what I read in March. What’s on the list? Some Kahlo, a mystery-thriller, some “women’s fiction,” and some poetry.

Frida Kahlo: Her Photos by Frida . . . → Read More: “Show Us Your Books”: What I Read in March

Strawberry-Jasmine Jam for The Girl in the Painting

Welcome to the latest stop on the TLC Book Tour, one for The Girl in the Painting by Tea Cooper. I did receive a free copy for an honest review.

About the Book:

A young prodigy in need of family. A painting that shatters a woman’s peace. And a decades-old mystery demanding to . . . → Read More: Strawberry-Jasmine Jam for The Girl in the Painting

“Tio Mario’s Famous Chile Con Carne Colorado-Style Burritos” for Cook the Books

This Cook the Books round features Where I Come From: Life Lessons from a Latino Chef by Aarón Sánchez. It’s an honest look at the world of cooking and the chef himself. These burritos, attributed to his uncle, are worth the time to make. The book is more than worthy to pick up. Delicious! . . . → Read More: “Tio Mario’s Famous Chile Con Carne Colorado-Style Burritos” for Cook the Books

Dandelion Jelly and Falling from Trees

Good morning! Is Spring even getting close to emerging where you are? I am actually writing this post on an early February morning when it is -11F. New record low of course…just another 100 year weather occurrence which seems to be happening more and more.

Weather and climate change are catalysts for a new short . . . → Read More: Dandelion Jelly and Falling from Trees

#AllGirlsBlogParty and a Gourmet Breakfast Sandwich

Welcome to the All Girls Blog Party! Today’s celebration is not an exclusive event. We welcome all, but we are celebrating the new book by Emily Layden: All Girls.

About the Book:

A keenly perceptive coming of age novel for fans of Sally Rooney, Curtis Sittenfeld, and J. Courtney Sullivan, All Girls follows nine young . . . → Read More: #AllGirlsBlogParty and a Gourmet Breakfast Sandwich

Alice Hoffman’s Potato Soup and a review of The Artists’ and Writers’ Cookbook

Today is Part II (sort of) of the Dec/Jan edition of Cook the Books. Yesterday I posted a recipe and review of Eat Joy. Today I’m posting a recipe and review for The Artists’ and Writers’ Cookbook. Both are extremely well done and edited by Natalie Garrett.

Deb (Kahakai Kitchen) had chosen Eat Joy for . . . → Read More: Alice Hoffman’s Potato Soup and a review of The Artists’ and Writers’ Cookbook

Spinach & Feta Frittata

Welcome to Eat Joy, the current selection for Cook the Books. I made a delicious brunch dish, Spinach & Feta Frittata. . . . → Read More: Spinach & Feta Frittata

Smoky Pimento Cheese for Big Lies in a Small Town

It’s a party today…specifically a blog party for Big Lies in a Small Town by Diane Chamberlain. Come join the fun! #BigLiesinaSmallTownParty . . . → Read More: Smoky Pimento Cheese for Big Lies in a Small Town

Apple Fritters and The Amish Baker’s Rival (Guest Blogger!!!)

Join me in welcoming a guest blogger today, my mom! Here’s her review of The Amish Baker’s Rival by Marie Bast along with homemade apple fritters! . . . → Read More: Apple Fritters and The Amish Baker’s Rival (Guest Blogger!!!)