“Tio Mario’s Famous Chile Con Carne Colorado-Style Burritos” for Cook the Books

This Cook the Books round features Where I Come From: Life Lessons from a Latino Chef by Aarón Sánchez. It’s an honest look at the world of cooking and the chef himself. These burritos, attributed to his uncle, are worth the time to make. The book is more than worthy to pick up. Delicious! . . . → Read More: “Tio Mario’s Famous Chile Con Carne Colorado-Style Burritos” for Cook the Books

#AllGirlsBlogParty and a Gourmet Breakfast Sandwich

Welcome to the All Girls Blog Party! Today’s celebration is not an exclusive event. We welcome all, but we are celebrating the new book by Emily Layden: All Girls.

About the Book:

A keenly perceptive coming of age novel for fans of Sally Rooney, Curtis Sittenfeld, and J. Courtney Sullivan, All Girls follows nine young . . . → Read More: #AllGirlsBlogParty and a Gourmet Breakfast Sandwich

Alice Hoffman’s Potato Soup and a review of The Artists’ and Writers’ Cookbook

Today is Part II (sort of) of the Dec/Jan edition of Cook the Books. Yesterday I posted a recipe and review of Eat Joy. Today I’m posting a recipe and review for The Artists’ and Writers’ Cookbook. Both are extremely well done and edited by Natalie Garrett.

Deb (Kahakai Kitchen) had chosen Eat Joy for . . . → Read More: Alice Hoffman’s Potato Soup and a review of The Artists’ and Writers’ Cookbook

Spinach & Feta Frittata

Welcome to Eat Joy, the current selection for Cook the Books. I made a delicious brunch dish, Spinach & Feta Frittata. . . . → Read More: Spinach & Feta Frittata

“In My Kitchen” November 2020

This month I offer up a cookbook review, some late harvest preservation and a favorite tea. There might also be some non-partisan election musings (in a totally hopeful way). . . . → Read More: “In My Kitchen” November 2020

Thick and Hearty Minestrone with Roasted Piquillo-Mozzarella Paninis

Welcome to the TLC Book Tour stop for Murder in the Piazza by Jen Collins Moore. This book inspired a truly comforting meal of soup and sandwiches. . . . → Read More: Thick and Hearty Minestrone with Roasted Piquillo-Mozzarella Paninis

A Borrowed Life, TLC Book Tour, and BPT Sandwiches

Once again, we’re on a stop for a TLC Book Tour. Welcome aboard!

If Questions of Perspective (my last book review) was irreverently spiritual, A Borrowed Life by Kerri Anne King shows a world of reverent hypocrisy, one that is rigid and stifling.

About the Book:

From the Amazon Charts bestselling author of Whisper . . . → Read More: A Borrowed Life, TLC Book Tour, and BPT Sandwiches

Top Ten Tuesdays: Foodie Reads

Here’s ten more books to add to your reading list this summer, especially if you’re a foodie. . . . → Read More: Top Ten Tuesdays: Foodie Reads

Zucchini-Apple Ginger Cake for The Lost Girls of Devon TLC Book Tour

Welcome to the TLC Book Tour for The Lost Girls of Devon by Barbara O’Neal. It’s set in the UK so it was a perfect time to whip up a cake for tea. . . . → Read More: Zucchini-Apple Ginger Cake for The Lost Girls of Devon TLC Book Tour

Chili-Infused Brownies with Mango-Strawberry Frozen Yogurt

Welcome to the latest round of Cook the Books. CTB is a virtual book club open to anyone that has a passion for books and food. Every two months, we all collectively read, become inspired and get into the kitchen. For more details on joining our merry band of epicurean readers, click here.

Claudia from . . . → Read More: Chili-Infused Brownies with Mango-Strawberry Frozen Yogurt