Cookbook review: Half Baked Harvest Every Day

It’s been a while since I reviewed a cookbook. Hope you haven’t been waiting with bated breath.

There’s a higher end boutique that I visit (mostly to browse or look on the sale rack). They carry some cool cookbooks and I always peruse through them and then snap some photos of the covers so I . . . → Read More: Cookbook review: Half Baked Harvest Every Day

Cookbook Review: Feed These People

My sister ordered this book for me and had it shipped to us. She thought there might be a lot of recipes that we could adapt for our new outdoor griddle. While I’m unsure that that is true, I am positive I love this cookbook! Even if you’re not a cook, just read this book . . . → Read More: Cookbook Review: Feed These People

“In My Kitchen” May 2023

I feel like there’s less and less new things to highlight in my kitchen with each passing month. I can’t just highlight the last farm bag no matter how great it was. Honestly, The Hubs seems to be cooking more on his outdoor griddle than I am cooking in my kitchen. (The griddle was highlighted . . . → Read More: “In My Kitchen” May 2023

The Kitchen Front and an Eggless Honey-Apple Cake Recipe

Claudia is hosting the February/March selection for Cook the Books. You can read her announcement post here.

About the book:

Two years into World War II, Britain is feeling her losses: The Nazis have won battles, the Blitz has destroyed cities, and U-boats have cut off the supply of food. In an effort to . . . → Read More: The Kitchen Front and an Eggless Honey-Apple Cake Recipe

What’s Good? This maple-whiskey cocktail and Peter Hoffman’s Book #LitHappens

I was please to get an advanced copy of Peter Hoffman’s memoir, What’s Good? A Memoir in Fourteen Ingredients. Here’s my review along with Hoffman’s Back Forty cocktail. . . . → Read More: What’s Good? This maple-whiskey cocktail and Peter Hoffman’s Book #LitHappens

A Basque-New Orleans Hybrid Sandwich (and a review of North Face of the Heart for TLC)

What a ride! North Face of the Heart is a crime thriller, a family dynamics drama, coupled with Basque legends and New Orleans voodoo set against the backdrop of Katrina. Intrigued? Read on for the review and recipes. . . . → Read More: A Basque-New Orleans Hybrid Sandwich (and a review of North Face of the Heart for TLC)

“Tio Mario’s Famous Chile Con Carne Colorado-Style Burritos” for Cook the Books

This Cook the Books round features Where I Come From: Life Lessons from a Latino Chef by Aarón Sánchez. It’s an honest look at the world of cooking and the chef himself. These burritos, attributed to his uncle, are worth the time to make. The book is more than worthy to pick up. Delicious! . . . → Read More: “Tio Mario’s Famous Chile Con Carne Colorado-Style Burritos” for Cook the Books

#AllGirlsBlogParty and a Gourmet Breakfast Sandwich

Welcome to the All Girls Blog Party! Today’s celebration is not an exclusive event. We welcome all, but we are celebrating the new book by Emily Layden: All Girls.

About the Book:

A keenly perceptive coming of age novel for fans of Sally Rooney, Curtis Sittenfeld, and J. Courtney Sullivan, All Girls follows nine young . . . → Read More: #AllGirlsBlogParty and a Gourmet Breakfast Sandwich

Alice Hoffman’s Potato Soup and a review of The Artists’ and Writers’ Cookbook

Today is Part II (sort of) of the Dec/Jan edition of Cook the Books. Yesterday I posted a recipe and review of Eat Joy. Today I’m posting a recipe and review for The Artists’ and Writers’ Cookbook. Both are extremely well done and edited by Natalie Garrett.

Deb (Kahakai Kitchen) had chosen Eat Joy for . . . → Read More: Alice Hoffman’s Potato Soup and a review of The Artists’ and Writers’ Cookbook

Spinach & Feta Frittata

Welcome to Eat Joy, the current selection for Cook the Books. I made a delicious brunch dish, Spinach & Feta Frittata. . . . → Read More: Spinach & Feta Frittata