Cranberry-Banana Bread and Banana-Blueberry Muffins

Two great recipes for using up those gnarly over-ripe bananas. . . . → Read More: Cranberry-Banana Bread and Banana-Blueberry Muffins

Midnight Chicken (& Other Recipes Worth Living For)

The first two recipes that are worth living for (and a great way to start out 2022) are Maslen Bread and Whiskey & Rye Blondies. Midnight Chicken may end up being my go-to cookbook for all things comforting (and for the simple wisdoms of the kitchen). . . . → Read More: Midnight Chicken (& Other Recipes Worth Living For)

Focaccia with Roasted Grapes, Walnuts, Rosemary and Honey

The Great British Bake Off inspired me to create a new recipe. Weird combination but it works. . . . → Read More: Focaccia with Roasted Grapes, Walnuts, Rosemary and Honey

A Basque-New Orleans Hybrid Sandwich (and a review of North Face of the Heart for TLC)

What a ride! North Face of the Heart is a crime thriller, a family dynamics drama, coupled with Basque legends and New Orleans voodoo set against the backdrop of Katrina. Intrigued? Read on for the review and recipes. . . . → Read More: A Basque-New Orleans Hybrid Sandwich (and a review of North Face of the Heart for TLC)

#AllGirlsBlogParty and a Gourmet Breakfast Sandwich

Welcome to the All Girls Blog Party! Today’s celebration is not an exclusive event. We welcome all, but we are celebrating the new book by Emily Layden: All Girls.

About the Book:

A keenly perceptive coming of age novel for fans of Sally Rooney, Curtis Sittenfeld, and J. Courtney Sullivan, All Girls follows nine young . . . → Read More: #AllGirlsBlogParty and a Gourmet Breakfast Sandwich

Sourdough Banana Bread

In the June “In My Kitchen” post, I put in a couple of teaser recipes and promised more about them later. Today’s the day to reveal this FANTASTIC banana bread recipe.

I’ve started sourdough a couple of times and was able to maintain a live batch for a few months a couple of years ago. . . . → Read More: Sourdough Banana Bread

French Bread (and an essential outing)

After a successful hunt for bread flour, I found this recipe in an old cookbook passed on to me by my grandmother. Here’s a comforting (and easy) recipe (and another Cookbook of the Week post). . . . → Read More: French Bread (and an essential outing)

Elephant Ears and Pomegranate Soup

Pomegranate Soup is the current selection for Cook the Books. There’s an eclectic mix of Persian, Italian, and Irish food in this book. I decided on the Persian recipe for Elephant Ears. . . . → Read More: Elephant Ears and Pomegranate Soup

Banana-Mango Nut Muffins

The Language of Flowers by Vanessa Diffenbaugh is the current Cook the Books selection. There’s so much food in this novel, perhaps to help comfort one as they read this tale of survival and ultimate triumph and hope. . . . → Read More: Banana-Mango Nut Muffins

The Art of Escapism and a long faux sour dough process

The Art of Escapism by Mandy Lee (blogger from Lady & Pups) is my next stop on the TLC Book Tour. Her recipes are inventive and her sense of humor is outrageously funny and pained at the same time. Keep on for a prolonged bread recipe that is worth it. . . . → Read More: The Art of Escapism and a long faux sour dough process