Cinnamon and Gunpowder Muffins for CTB

I about screwed up. I was thinking I had until the end of December for this round of Cook the Books. Claudia from Honey from Rock is hosting Cinnamon and Gunpowder by Eli Brown. You can read her announcement post here.

The book has been on my bedside table for a couple of months. I . . . → Read More: Cinnamon and Gunpowder Muffins for CTB

Zucchini Frittata from The Blackbird Café

Midnight at the Blackbird Cafe is the current selection for Cook the Books. There’s a lot of delicious food (and pie) in the novel. I would like to make it all but settled on this frittata to celebrate the book. . . . → Read More: Zucchini Frittata from The Blackbird Café

Potato Sandwiches with Pepperoni and Basil for Cook the Books

This round’s selection is 97 Orchard: An Edible History of Five Immigrant Families in One New York Tenement by Jane Ziegelman. It was a very informative and very readable history of immigrant food from the 1850s to the 1930s. . . . → Read More: Potato Sandwiches with Pepperoni and Basil for Cook the Books

Olive Oil Poached Eggs with Toast Points and Hot Honey for Why I Never Finished My Dissertation

It’s a first today at EE…the first collection of poetry that I’ve reviewed here and paired with a recipe. Enjoy this slim volume of verse along with a most excellent breakfast option. . . . → Read More: Olive Oil Poached Eggs with Toast Points and Hot Honey for Why I Never Finished My Dissertation

Granola Waffles

No book review today. No link ups. No Food ‘n Flix or Cook the Books. As novel as it is, here’s an original recipe for a delicious, hearty and mostly healthy breakfast staple: Granola Waffles! . . . → Read More: Granola Waffles

Sourdough Granola Muffins

These granola muffins are a great grab-n-go breakfast. Use your sourdough discard and toss in whatever you like: dried fruit, more nuts. If you don’t have granola, use some oatmeal with a bit of cinnamon. Hope you enjoy! . . . → Read More: Sourdough Granola Muffins

#AllGirlsBlogParty and a Gourmet Breakfast Sandwich

Welcome to the All Girls Blog Party! Today’s celebration is not an exclusive event. We welcome all, but we are celebrating the new book by Emily Layden: All Girls.

About the Book:

A keenly perceptive coming of age novel for fans of Sally Rooney, Curtis Sittenfeld, and J. Courtney Sullivan, All Girls follows nine young . . . → Read More: #AllGirlsBlogParty and a Gourmet Breakfast Sandwich

Spinach & Feta Frittata

Welcome to Eat Joy, the current selection for Cook the Books. I made a delicious brunch dish, Spinach & Feta Frittata. . . . → Read More: Spinach & Feta Frittata

Apple Fritters and The Amish Baker’s Rival (Guest Blogger!!!)

Join me in welcoming a guest blogger today, my mom! Here’s her review of The Amish Baker’s Rival by Marie Bast along with homemade apple fritters! . . . → Read More: Apple Fritters and The Amish Baker’s Rival (Guest Blogger!!!)

“Secret” Meyer Lemon Scones for The Secret, Book & Scone Society

The Secret, Book & Scone Society is the current Cook the Books read. Here’s my review of this quaint little mystery along with a “secret” scone recipe. (The secret may be in the glaze…you will see…) . . . → Read More: “Secret” Meyer Lemon Scones for The Secret, Book & Scone Society