#AllGirlsBlogParty and a Gourmet Breakfast Sandwich

Welcome to the All Girls Blog Party!   Today’s celebration is not an exclusive event.  We welcome all,  but we are celebrating the new book by Emily Layden:  All Girls.

About the Book:

A keenly perceptive coming of age novel for fans of Sally Rooney, Curtis Sittenfeld, and J. Courtney Sullivan, All Girls follows nine young women as they navigate their . . . → Read More: #AllGirlsBlogParty and a Gourmet Breakfast Sandwich

Spinach & Feta Frittata

Welcome to Eat Joy, the current selection for Cook the Books. I made a delicious brunch dish, Spinach & Feta Frittata. . . . → Read More: Spinach & Feta Frittata

Apple Fritters and The Amish Baker’s Rival (Guest Blogger!!!)

Join me in welcoming a guest blogger today, my mom! Here’s her review of The Amish Baker’s Rival by Marie Bast along with homemade apple fritters! . . . → Read More: Apple Fritters and The Amish Baker’s Rival (Guest Blogger!!!)

“Secret” Meyer Lemon Scones for The Secret, Book & Scone Society

The Secret, Book & Scone Society is the current Cook the Books read. Here’s my review of this quaint little mystery along with a “secret” scone recipe. (The secret may be in the glaze…you will see…) . . . → Read More: “Secret” Meyer Lemon Scones for The Secret, Book & Scone Society

No-Bake Cocoa & Apricot Nut Bars from The What to Eat When Cookbook

For the TLC Book Tour stop today, there’s no novel.  What we do have is a wonderful cookbook by the authors of What to Eat When.  (And that’s no fiction!)

About The What to Eat When Cookbook

• Hardcover: 304 pages • Publisher: National Geographic (October 20, 2020)

This inspiring cookbook/strategic eating plan–sequel to the wildly popular . . . → Read More: No-Bake Cocoa & Apricot Nut Bars from The What to Eat When Cookbook

Sourdough Coffee Cake

For this installment of Cookbook of the Week I delved into the family archives. What I found was a great sourdough recipe that is delicious for breakfast. . . . → Read More: Sourdough Coffee Cake

Maple-Banana Muffins and The Ingredients of You and Me for TLC

Nina Bocci’s latest novel includes some heirloom recipes for Cucidati (Italian Fig Cookies), Apfelkuchen (German Apple Cake), Hummingbird Cake, Italian Wedding Cookies (anise cookies), and Ciambelone (Italian tea cakes). Please join me for my TLC review. . . . → Read More: Maple-Banana Muffins and The Ingredients of You and Me for TLC

Live-Longer Granola

I recently reviewed The Blue Zones Kitchen and have really been using this cookbook since.   It’s been hard lately cooking from a cookbook because I am not running to the store for needed ingredients.  If we don’t have it, we make something else (or totally revamp the original recipe).

Having recently eaten the last of the granola . . . → Read More: Live-Longer Granola

Strawberry-Spinach Smoothies

Don’t you hate it when you don’t have the called-for ingredients for a recipe you want to make? Improvise and come up with a completely different and perhaps more delicious one! . . . → Read More: Strawberry-Spinach Smoothies

Cornmeal Cream Cheese Pancakes with Cranberry and Apricot Maple Syrup

I Heart Cooking Club‘s theme this week is CRANBERRIES! I found a great recipe in a retro Gourmet to celebrate the season. Serve these pancakes up for a very special Thanksgiving breakfast! . . . → Read More: Cornmeal Cream Cheese Pancakes with Cranberry and Apricot Maple Syrup