“In My Kitchen” May 2022

Welcome May!

Spring weather has been with us for some time in Oklahoma. Our last freeze was in mid April. I hope as this posts that I have the tomatoes and peppers in the garden, the bananas back in their bed, and all of the potted plants back on the patio. (Hopefully there might be . . . → Read More: “In My Kitchen” May 2022

Autumn Buddha Bowl Recipe (A Belated “In My Kitchen”)

A few birthday items, some produce, a Buddha Bowl recipe and some pumpkin stuff. That’s my November IMK in a nutshell. (Oh, and a new cookbook!) . . . → Read More: Autumn Buddha Bowl Recipe (A Belated “In My Kitchen”)

Tears of the Moon Cocktail for Jungle Cruise and Movies & Munchies

Here’s a magical cocktail to highlight this month’s Movies & Munchies feature film, Jungle Cruise. . . . → Read More: Tears of the Moon Cocktail for Jungle Cruise and Movies & Munchies

Show Us Your Books, April 2022

Here’s what I read in March. The list is a bit shorter than the last two months.

There’s one “cookbook,” one foodie read, an art book, a massive saga and a couple of book club selections.

Healing Spices Handbook by Barbara Brownell Grogan My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I’ve always been very interested in . . . → Read More: Show Us Your Books, April 2022

Sweet and Spicy Balsamic Vinaigrette

Today’s recipe is inspired from Red Sparrow, the Cook the Books selection for February/March. . . . → Read More: Sweet and Spicy Balsamic Vinaigrette

Cheesy Green Chile Bean and Beef Burritos for Off the Menu

Welcome to this month’s Movies & Munchies feature: Off the Menu. The film is set in New Mexico so I was pumped. I’m including some of my New Mexican recipes too today. . . . → Read More: Cheesy Green Chile Bean and Beef Burritos for Off the Menu

Rabbit Food with Chicken Nuggets (and a book review of The Damage Done

In a world where it seems like we are living out a dystopian plot, it’s nice to read something that appears to depict utopia. The Damage Done by Michael Landweber might be just what we need.

About the novel: For fans of Ben Winters and Sarah Pinsker, this mind-bending and thought-provoking novel pushes the . . . → Read More: Rabbit Food with Chicken Nuggets (and a book review of The Damage Done

Show Us Your Books: March 2022

Here’s the books I read in February. The list is not quite as long as last month’s but the girth of some of these books was mighty. If I had an unintentional theme for last month’s reads it seems to be of “page to screen” (at least for a few of them). A Game of . . . → Read More: Show Us Your Books: March 2022

“In My Kitchen” March 2021

Absolutely not much going on in our kitchen….some recipes were tried with a modicum of success. Greenhouse veggies are progressing. Books have been ordered for the next round of Cook the books. . . . → Read More: “In My Kitchen” March 2021

Pesto Chicken Hash for this month’s Movies & Munchies: The French Dispatch

Welcome to February’s Movies & Munchies feature film, The French Dispatch. Palatable Pastime is hosting.

I have always enjoyed Wes Anderson’s films. Back in the Food ‘n Flix days, we were inspired by Moonrise Kingdom. I remember The Royal Tenebaums and Rushmore fondly. Then came this round of Movies & Munchies . You . . . → Read More: Pesto Chicken Hash for this month’s Movies & Munchies: The French Dispatch