Spicy Lentil Soup

Tired of snow, polar vortexes, COVID? This soup will make your day a whole lot brighter. You can seriously make this with what’s in your pantry and fridge. It’s nothing fancy but it can be a bright spot in your day (or week). . . . → Read More: Spicy Lentil Soup

#AllGirlsBlogParty and a Gourmet Breakfast Sandwich

Welcome to the All Girls Blog Party!   Today’s celebration is not an exclusive event.  We welcome all,  but we are celebrating the new book by Emily Layden:  All Girls.

About the Book:

A keenly perceptive coming of age novel for fans of Sally Rooney, Curtis Sittenfeld, and J. Courtney Sullivan, All Girls follows nine young women as they navigate their . . . → Read More: #AllGirlsBlogParty and a Gourmet Breakfast Sandwich

Alice Hoffman’s Potato Soup and a review of The Artists’ and Writers’ Cookbook

Today is Part II (sort of) of the Dec/Jan edition of Cook the Books.  Yesterday I posted a recipe and review of Eat Joy.  Today I’m posting a recipe and review for The Artists’ and Writers’ Cookbook.  Both are extremely well done and edited by Natalie Garrett.

Deb (Kahakai Kitchen) had chosen Eat Joy for the CTB book pic.  I . . . → Read More: Alice Hoffman’s Potato Soup and a review of The Artists’ and Writers’ Cookbook

Simply Irresistible Coq Au Vin and Fennel Salad for Food ‘n Flix

Welcome to this month’s round for Food ‘n Flix.  Wendy from A Day in the Life on a Farm is hosting Simply Irresistible.    I had never heard of this movie but it was a FnF feature back in November 2011.  That was before I had found this great virtual movie club.  (You can read Wendy’s . . . → Read More: Simply Irresistible Coq Au Vin and Fennel Salad for Food ‘n Flix

White Pumpkin Soup with Southwestern Spice

A couple of weeks ago, it was time to pull the fall decorations off the front porch before the pumpkins froze.

I didn’t go all out with decorating so I just had a small pie pumpkin stacked on top of a squatty white pumpkin.  (I used the roasted pie pumpkin in these . . . → Read More: White Pumpkin Soup with Southwestern Spice

Thick and Hearty Minestrone with Roasted Piquillo-Mozzarella Paninis

Welcome to the TLC Book Tour stop for Murder in the Piazza by Jen Collins Moore. This book inspired a truly comforting meal of soup and sandwiches. . . . → Read More: Thick and Hearty Minestrone with Roasted Piquillo-Mozzarella Paninis

A Borrowed Life, TLC Book Tour, and BPT Sandwiches

Once again, we’re on a stop for a TLC Book Tour.  Welcome aboard!

If  Questions of Perspective (my last book review) was irreverently spiritual, A Borrowed Life by Kerri Anne King shows a world of reverent hypocrisy, one that is rigid and stifling.

About the Book:

From the Amazon Charts bestselling author of Whisper Me This comes an emotional and sharply . . . → Read More: A Borrowed Life, TLC Book Tour, and BPT Sandwiches

The Doctor of Aleppo and Eggplant and Tomato Stew with Pomegranate Molasses

The Doctor of Aleppo is a new offering by Dan Mayland and the current stop on the TLC Book Tour. This is a beautifully written tale of the Syrian civil war and those who found themselves in the middle of it, by birth and by circumstance. The novel inspired me to make this beautiful vegetarian stew. . . . → Read More: The Doctor of Aleppo and Eggplant and Tomato Stew with Pomegranate Molasses

Grilled Banh Mi Sandwiches with Pickled Veggies

Every so often, The Hubs will put out a special request, do all the shopping and pitch in with the cooking.   Most of these requests involve grilling.

The most recent suggestion for dinner was a Banh Mi sandwich, but as mentioned above, he wanted to grill it.  I did some research and we came up . . . → Read More: Grilled Banh Mi Sandwiches with Pickled Veggies

Black Beans with Garlic and Chipotle on a TLC Book Tour for Resurrecting Rain

Resurrecting Rain by Patricia Averbach is partially set in Santa Fe. This novel gave me a great excuse to pull out my Santa Fe School of Cooking Cookbook and find an authentic recipe that could have been served up in the novel. . . . → Read More: Black Beans with Garlic and Chipotle on a TLC Book Tour for Resurrecting Rain